top of page

Husky Leadership Initiative

In this increasingly complex and rapidly evolving world, we need leaders with the knowledge, skills, character and hope to respond to the social, political, scientific, and moral dilemmas of our time. As a public institution, it is our mission and responsibility to equip our students with these habits of the mind and heart needed to make their positive contribution in the world. The Husky Leadership Initiative (HLI) is a dynamic outgrowth of the University of Washington’s vision to “educate a diverse student body to become responsible global citizens and future leaders.” HLI responds to the imperative to prepare students to engage in leadership for the 21st century by making leadership education at the University of Washington accessible, explicit and comprehensive. I highly encourage all of you to participate in this useful class!

Because of this class, I was shared the opportunity about the Husky Presidential Ambassadors (HPA) study abroad program in China by Francesca Lo, the director of HLI. I was emailed a link to the application to the study abroad, which contains personal essays. I turned in my application and was selected for the interview. During the interview, Liping Yu - the senior professor of the Chinese language, and Francesca took turn asking me question regarding my interest in this particular study abroad program. Soon after, I was notified that I was selected to be one of the participants of the study abroad program. In addition, I also received financial aid to cover pretty much the whole program fee. I was so excited!

I encouraged anyone of you to try to apply for the next year program. You can check out the information here:

http://www.washington.edu/globalaffairs/hpa/

Best!

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page